visuel-ambiance-home

Company

20 years of creativity and 12 designers

When a company moves on to a new stage in its history as Forestier is today, this is with the goal of preparing a brighter, design-driven future, while retaining the notions of creativity, poetry and nature as its watchwords.

Protecting the core values of yesteryear while embracing those of tomorrow, never losing sight of the need to be demanding, benefiting from high-quality, an excellent image and selectivity.
Adapting to economic changes and constantly reinventing itself. This has become a way of life for Forestier!
Drawing strength from the passion and experience of powerful minds, in addition to the proven know-how of professionals in every field.

A new chapter is beginning...

The 2012 collection places the focus on light and the many ways in which this is reflected.

As key features of the Forestier catalogue, lighting and its environment comes to the fore, more relevant than ever. Unusual tools and solutions, new technology (solar and LED, etc.) combine with new forms of know-how to convey the poetic and aesthetic spirit so dear to Forestier.

« And what could be more attractive in a home than an elegant and practical lamp which is also environmentally friendly, meeting the energy objectives which we today embrace? »
It is to these recognised or emerging talents that we have conferred the task of creating specific items enjoying a strong identity but always at affordable prices.

Arik Levy - Sebastian Bergne - Laurence Brabant - Emmanuel Gallina - Christian Ghion et Basile Huez - Normal Studio - Ionna Vautrin - Noé Duchaufour-LawrenceElise Fouin - Nicolas Daul et Julien Demanche - Neil Poulton

To anticipate the near future and to sketch out solutions to emerging problems. To capitalise on everything that has made the company so unique, conveying our difference using the resources of tomorrow.

A brief recap...

1992- 2001
It was topiary which provided the inspiration for the adventure which sprang from Bernard Forestier’s passion for French style gardens including their proportionality, their overall balance and the elegant combination of alternating straight lines and curves. His passion for beautiful things was matched only by his love of the materials to be worked. This creative spirit flew in the face of existing traditions and saw the botanical arts being introduced into the home, including the creation of woven metal wire items before turning to materials as different as rusted metal, zinc or cast iron in order to present new designs which were always lightweight and well structured, combining poetry with humour. Over time, Forestier made a name for itself thanks to its quest for, and skill in providing, a fragile balance between nature and design including the elegance of its pure styling, or its preference for raw, authentic materials enhanced by the work of the craftsmen.

2002 -2011
Ten years after it was founded, the company changed direction following the death of Bernard Forestier. At the request of Hélène Forestier, Gilles Dallière took on the running of the artistic aspects and showed a willingness to make each item a genuinely unique piece. This change saw the company focusing increasingly on luxury and natural items, while displaying a great deal of sobriety. Shapes became increasingly sophisticated, with an increasing focus on lighting and colour without losing that distinctive quality conveyed by the craftsmen’s skill.

2012-...
Hélène Forestier passed the torch to Jean Dominique Leze, to whom we owe the "107 Rivoli" for the decorative arts and the company ENO (Edition Nouveaux Objets) with François Bernard. Along with Gilles Dallière who remained with him, it was his turn to build the company’s expressive identity for the years to come. His challenge was to forge the future without renouncing the past. Strengthening the identity and power of the brand, marking out its unique place while also finding new roads ahead.

Over and above the role of a publishing house, Forestier successfully reinvented itself as a creative and poetic brand, with design, nature and raw materials as its watchwords. A brand attaching particular importance to functionality and customer value as part of a responsible approach to its activities.

"A designer item is first and foremost an optimal, attractive, useful, high-quality item which fulfils a specific purpose. Its design must remain simple in order to enhance the shape, the material appearance, the technological know-how and the skills of craftsmen" explained Jean Dominique Leze.

visuel-ambiance-home

Société

20 ans de créations et 12 designers

Quand une entreprise tourne une page de son histoire comme Forestier aujourd’hui, c’est pour mieux se projeter dans un avenir lumineux avec le design en fer de lance, mais toujours avec la créativité, la poésie et la nature comme piliers.

Préserver les fondamentaux d’hier mais déjà imaginer ceux de demain ...
S’inscrire dans une continuité d’exigences, de qualité, d’image et de sélection …
S’adapter aux bouleversements économiques et se réinventer : un modus vivendi pour Forestier depuis sa fondation !
Se nourrir de la passion et de l’expérience de personnalités bien affirmées, du savoir faire de professionnels dans chaque domaine …

Un autre chapitre commence à s’écrire ...

La collection 2012 met l’accent sur la lumière et ses reflets sous toutes ses formes.

Emblématique du catalogue Forestier, les luminaires et leur environnement, s’inscrivent dans une énergie plus que jamais d’actualité. Des outils inédits, de nouvelles technologies (photovoltaïques, LED, ... ) convoquent de nouveaux savoir faire pour décliner l’esprit poétique et esthétique si cher à Forestier ...

« Et quoi de plus attrayant dans une maison qu’une lampe élégante et fonctionnelle qui en prime respecte l’environnement et les contraintes énergétiques qui sont les nôtres aujourd’hui ? »
C’est à ces talents reconnus ou en devenir qu’a été confiée la mission de créer des objets spécifiques à forte identité mais toujours à prix accessibles.

Arik Levy - Sebastian Bergne - Laurence Brabant - Emmanuel Gallina - Christian Ghion et Basile Huez - Normal Studio - Ionna Vautrin - Noé Duchaufour-LawrenceElise Fouin - Nicolas Daul et Julien Demanche - Neil Poulton

Pour anticiper le futur proche et esquisser des solutions aux nouvelles problématiques. Pour capitaliser sur ce qui a fait la singularité de la Maison et décliner notre différence avec les moyens de demain.

Pour la petite histoire …

1992- 2001
Une topiaire s’invite à l’origine de l’aventure qui nait de la passion de Bernard Forestier pour les jardins à la Française, leurs justes proportions, leur équilibre, l’élégante alternance des lignes droites et des courbes. Il a le goût du beau mais aussi l’amour de la matière que l’on sculpte. Cet esprit créatif bouscule les traditions et fait entrer l’art de la botanique dans la maison. Il donne vie à des objets en fil de fer tissé avant de se tourner vers des matières aussi différentes que le métal rouillé, le zinc ou la fonte pour présenter des créations toujours aériennes, structurées, associant poésie et humour. Au fil du temps, Forestier s’est imposé par ses recherches et sa maîtrise d’un équilibre fragile entre nature et design, le raffinement de ses lignes épurées, ses parti pris de matériaux bruts et authentiques optimisés par le travail des artisans.

2002 -2011
Dix ans après sa création l’entreprise change de cap à la disparition de Bernard Forestier. A la demande d’Hélène Forestier Gilles Dallière prend la direction artistique et marque sa volonté de faire de chaque pièce, un « objet unique ». Une évolution qui joue la carte du luxe et du naturel dans une plus grande sobriété. Les formes se sophistiquent et parient sur la lumière et la couleur sans perdre le cachet inimitable du travail artisanal.

2012-...
Hélène Forestier passe le relais à Jean Dominique Leze, à qui l’on doit déjà le « 107 Rivoli » pour les Arts Décoratifs et la société ENO (Edition Nouveaux Objets) avec François Bernard. A lui de bâtir, - avec Gilles Dalliére qui reste à ses côtés- , le nouveau champ d’expression de la maison pour les années à venir. Son challenge ? Construire le futur sans renier le passé. Renforcer l’identité et la puissance de la marque en balisant son territoire singulier, en dessinant de nouvelles voies.

Au delà d’un rôle assumé de maison d’édition, Forestier se réinvente en marque créative et poétique, avec le design, la nature et les matières brutes, en points d’ancrage. Une marque qui privilégie la fonction et l’intérêt du consommateur dans une démarche responsable.

« Un objet design est avant tout un objet juste, beau, utile, de qualité, qui répond à une fonction. Sa facture doit rester simple pour mieux valoriser la forme, l’aspect matière, le savoir-faire technologique ou artisanal. » explique Jean Dominique Leze.